Miller Distinguished Author

Assistant Professor Alexander Miller has been awarded the 2017 Organometallics Distinguished Author Award. Organometallics, the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry, and the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry sponsor this annual award, which recognizes the author of an exceptional article published in Organometallics in the previous two calendar years. The award is given to the author of an article that emphasized the importance of organometallic chemistry and had a profound impact on organic and inorganic chemistry as a whole.

"The committee chose Alex from a deep and talented pool of nominees, and the decision was influenced by his impactful 2016 article on methanol carbonylation, overall impact, and visibility in the field of organometallic chemistry, especially from those in the early career demographic,” says Paul J. Chirik, Editor-in-Chief of Organometallics. “His impact on various areas of fundamental organometallic chemistry, especially at the interface of alternative energy science, was also a highlight."

Interesting to note, is that our current Chair, Professor Jeff Johnson, was the winner of the related Journal of Organic Chemistry award last year.