Scroll Top

Department News

Pielak elected 2024 Biophysical Society Fellow

Congratulations to Gary Pielak for being named a 2024 Biophysical Society Fellow.

Researchers awarded NSF grant to support the future of semiconductors
Wei You stands outside underneath a green tree.

The award supports a collaborative project between UNC-Chapel Hill and NC State University. Researchers will develop a new short-wave infrared light camera and train a diverse group of students in using innovative technologies.

Department of Chemistry Announces 2023 Faculty Promotions

We are pleased to announce the promotion of 2 faculty members: Joshua Beaver and Danielle Zurcher.

Leibfarth announced as inaugural Institute for Convergent Science faculty fellow
A man, Frank Leibfarth, poses for a photo in a laboratory

The institute’s Faculty Fellowship Program will provide support for Frank Leibfarth, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry within the College of Arts and Sciences, whose research includes expanding options for recycling.


New formation and fate of Isoprene SOA markers revealed by field data-constrained modeling

In this study, we showed that particulate 2-MT and 2-MG collected at multiple monitoring sites under a wide range of atmospheric and emission conditions, with concentrations spanning six orders of magnitudes, are well reproduced with an expanded isoprene-SOA scheme implemented into the Community Multiscale Air Quality (CMAQ) model.

DiffN Selection of Tandem Mass Spectrometry Precursors

Herein, a new DDA approach is proposed, DiffN, which uses the relative differential intensity of ions between two samples to selectively target species undergoing the largest fold changes for MS/MS.

Self-powered perovskite photon-counting detectors

Here we show that self-powered polycrystalline perovskite photodetectors can rival the commercial silicon photomultipliers (SiPMs) for photon counting.

Catalytic, Asymmetric Michael-Aldol Annulations via a Stereodivergent/Stereoconvergent Path Operating under Curtin-Hammett Control

A bifunctional iminophosphorane (BIMP)-catalyzed method for the synthesis of densely functionalized cyclohexanols establishes five contiguous stereocenters (diastereoselection up to >20:1, enantioselectivity up to >99:1) in a Michael/aldol domino reaction between trisubstituted electrophilic alkenes and γ-nitroketones.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.