Chemistry Students Honored With Prestigious NSF Fellowships in Recognition of Outstanding Research

April 3, 2023 | By UNC-Chapel Hill Chemistry Communication

We are pleased to share that eight doctoral students in the department of chemistry at the University of North at Chapel Hill were selected to receive fellowships by the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP).

The prestigious and competitive fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. The five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support, including an annual stipend of $37,000 and a cost of education allowance of $12,000.  

Please join us in congratulating this year’s recipients as well as those earning honorable mentions. 

NSF Graduate Fellowship Program award winners

Samantha Clouthier, You Research Group

Justine Drappeau, Alexanian Research Group

Don McTaggart, Warren Research Group

Caroline Mohler, Leibfarth Research Group

Evan Stair, Hicks Research Group

Olivia Steiner, Li Research Group

Charles Teeples, Wilkerson-Hill Research Group

Sydney Towell, Zhukhovitskiy Research Group

Honorable Mentions

Emily Sherman, Johnson Research Group