Scroll Top

2021 Departmental Senior Awards

2021 Departmental Senior Awards

May 14, 2021

By UNC-Chapel Hill Chemistry Communication

The annual Departmental Senior Awards are awarded to students demonstrating excellence in their academic studies in chemistry and/or research in the labs. The awards were presented in the virtual celebration of our graduates in the Class of 2021. Please join us in congratulating our 2021 recipients:  

  • The Emmett Gladstone Rand Premedical Scholarship, $2,000: This award is presented to exceptionally talented graduating seniors intending to pursue a career in medicine or in the allied health sciences. 
    • Francis Lauzier 
    • Trevor Fachko 
    • Kristen Hines 
    • Harrison Jacobs 
  • David L. Stern Scholar Award, $750: This award recognizes students at the top of our capstone laboratory courses. 
    • Elizabeth Karlsson  
    • Melanie Tojong 
  • Francis P. Venable Medal, $750: This award is given in honor of Dr. Francis P. Venable, who served as president of the University from 1900-1914, department chair of chemistry and president of the American Chemical Society.   The award is presented to the two most outstanding graduating seniors majoring in chemistry.  
    • Paige Jacky 
    • Nehemiah Stewart 

Congratulations to all our recipients! 

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.