Scroll Top

2020 Junior/ Senior Awards Banquet

November 09, 2020

Carolina Chemistry’s annual Junior/ Senior Awards Banquet celebrates the achievements and strides made by juniors and seniors in their academic studies and research in the lab. The following individuals will be honored at the banquet:

Jason D. Altom Memorial Award for Undergraduate Research- current juniors and seniors
This cash award recognizes research potential of an undergraduate chemistry major.

  • Delaney Davis
  • Alexis Glaudin
  • Holden Rogers
  • Nehemiah Stewart

Tanya R. Ellison Scholarship- junior women
A junior female B.S. chemistry major is selected for this cash award on the basis of character and academic commitment.

  •  Hannah King
  • Maia Vierengel

James H. Maguire Memorial Award- for a current junior
This award goes to an outstanding and academically gifted junior student majoring in chemistry.

  • Henry Bryant
  • Jeshurun Luke
  • Saher Mubarek
  • Nicole Sherman

Sophomore Chemistry Award (to a current junior)
A cash award will be given annually to the top sophomore chemistry student from the previous academic year, as determined by a search-committee including members of Alpha Chi Sigma (AXE).

  • Maia Vierengel

David L. Stern Scholar (junior or senior)
Top students from upper division lab courses are chosen for this cash award.

  • Emily Clark
  • Jozsef Toth

This year, the event will be held virtually on November 11, 2020 at 6 p.m. with featured speaker, UNC alum Julius Lucks, associate professor of chemistry and biological engineering at Northwestern University.

About Julius Lucks 

Dr. Lucks is Associate Professor and Associate Chair of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Northwestern University. After attending the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics for high school, he became an undergraduate at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he completed a BS in Chemistry in 2001. Julius spent most of his time at UNC in old Venable Hall, performing research in organic synthesis with Professor Tom Sorrell, quantum chemistry with Professor Max Berkowitz and the application of density functional theory to studying the electronic properties of atoms and molecules with Professor Robert Parr.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.