2022 Departmental Senior Awards

Date of publication: May 9, 2022 

Author: UNC-Chapel Hill Chemistry Communication 

The annual Departmental Senior Awards are awarded to students demonstrating excellence in their academic studies in chemistry and/or research in the labs. The awards were presented during the graduation ceremony on May 8th for the Class of 2022. Please join us in congratulating our 2022 recipients:  

  • The Emmett Gladstone Rand Premedical Scholarship: This award is presented to exceptionally talented graduating seniors intending to pursue a career in medicine or in the allied health sciences. 
    • Julie Lee 
    • Nicole Sherman 
    • L. Henry Bryant 
    • Joshua Morningstar 
  • David L. Stern Scholar Award: This award recognizes students at the top of our capstone laboratory courses. 
    • Zhongxiu Hu
    • Sontia Gather 
  • Francis P. Venable Medal: This award is given in honor of Dr. Francis P. Venable, who served as president of the University from 1900-1914, department chair of chemistry and president of the American Chemical Society.  The award is presented to the three most outstanding graduating seniors majoring in chemistry.  
    • Jessica Ille
    • Shikun (Rinco) Wang
    • Dalal Azzam 
  • Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award: This award recognizes outstanding teaching of laboratory courses. 
    • Lauren Satkowiak 

Congratulations to all our recipients!