Scroll Top

2022 Fall Banquet Awardees

2022 Fall Banquet Awardees

November 18, 2022 | UNC-Chapel Hill Chemistry Communication

Carolina Chemistry’s annual Fall Banquet celebrates the achievements and strides made by juniors and seniors in their academic studies and research in the lab. This year, the banquet was held on November 7th and the featured speaker was Dr. Crystal Waters, ’14, who is the lead chemist in battery research development at Chemours. Dr. Waters had also provided an inspirational lecture earlier in the day about her work at Chemours. The following awards were given out by Jillian Dempsey, director of undergraduate studies and Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor, with the exception of the inaugural Linda Spremulli Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research. The Spremulli Award was bestowed by the co-chairs of the Chemistry Diversity Committee, Nita Eskew, teaching associate professor, and Marcey Waters, Glen H. Elder, Jr. Distinguished Professor. The banquet concluded with closing remarks by Wei You, department chair of chemistry.

David L. Stern Scholarship: This award is presented to top students from upper division lab courses.  


  • Anna Eblen
  • Fiona Gable  

James H. Maguire Memorial Award: This award goes to outstanding and academically gifted juniors majoring in chemistry.  

  • Jamil Andrade
  • Meredith Daughtridge  
  • Ruta Petrikis  

Jason D. Altom Memorial for Undergraduate Research: This award recognizes research potential of outstanding undergraduate chemistry majors.  

  • Vittal Bhat
  • Kailyn Lowder
  • Hans Oh
  • Alan Wong

Tanya L R. Ellison Scholarship: This award is presented to junior females majoring chemistry on the basis of character and academic commitment.   

  • Meredith Daughtridge
  • Elsa Huebsch

Alpha Chi Sigma Sophomore Chemistry Award: Sponsored by the Alpha Chi Sigma (AXS) professional chemistry fraternity, this award recognizes the top sophomore chemistry student from the previous academic year.

  • Elsa Huebsch

Linda Spremulli Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research: This award in honor of the Department’s first female faculty member (and first biochemist) recognizes research potential of a senior undergraduate woman majoring in chemistry based on their outstanding participation in and contribution to mentored research at UNC. 

  • Melissa Yu

Linda Spremulli Honorable Mention

  • Elizabeth Choi
  • Elizabeth Redding
  • Maya Spencer


Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.