Mentor Awardees

The Office of Graduate Education at the UNC School of Medicine recognized ten faculty members from across UNC-Chapel Hill’s campus as Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring award winners at a recent ceremony. Out of the ten selected, three are Carolina Chemistry faculty members. Congratulations to professors Dorothy Erie, Gary Pielak, and Matthew Redinbo!

The celebration of these mentors included a seminar on the "The Good Mentor’s Power to Tackle our Most Urgent Scientific Challenges," given by Anna Sokac, Ph.D., associate professor of biochemistry at Baylor College of Medicine and a master facilitator with the National Research Mentoring Network. She spoke about the benefits linking strong research mentorship to enhanced scientific identify in mentees, increased research productivity, and retention of underrepresented students. Her seminar was followed by the presentation of awards to the honorees, including snippets of the nomination letters from mentees, and a reception honoring them.