Scroll Top

The Department of Chemistry announces 2020 Departmental Undergraduate Awards

May 12, 2020

Each May, the Department of Chemistry distributes awards in recognition of outstanding undergraduates.

Graduation Awards

Francis P. Venable  Award –  This award, given to two graduating seniors each year, is the highest distinction given by the Department of Chemistry. The award consists of $3,500 and the Venable medallion enclosed in a shadow box with an engraved brass plate.

Recipients – Caleb Cox and Holly Simmons


David L. Stern Award – The award’s intent is to provide scholarships and awards for one or more promising students majoring in Chemistry. Students are selected for this award based on their strong work in one of our capstone laboratory courses. The award consists of $750 and an engraved plaque. 

Recipients – Natalie Daumen and Jenny Hu


Emmett Gladstone Rand Premedical Scholarship :  The scholarship is intended to honor exceptionally talented senior undergraduate students intending to pursue a career in medicine or the allied health sciences. The award consists of $2,000 and an engraved plaque.

Recipients – Jackie Warren, Alton Gayton, Marisa Diiorio and Peter Cheng


Undergraduate TA Award : The recipient is selected by the Undergraduate Lab Program for outstanding performance of an Undergraduate TA. The award consists of $100.

Recipients – Matthew Pendleton, Allie Smith, Noah Lancaster


Summer Research Awards: The purpose of these awards are to provide support so that the recipient can continue their research projects during the summer of 2020. The award consists of a stipend in the amount of $3000. 

Tommie and Billie Hinton Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Recipients – Melissa Yu, Delaney Davis, Wenya Jian


Chapel Family Undergraduate Research Award –

Recipient – Troy Vulpis 


E.C. Markham Summer Research Award

Recipient – Noel Archer


Thurman Freeze Research Award

Recipient – Andrew Morrow


(Co-Sponsored) E.C. Markham Summer Research Award and the Chapel Family Undergraduate Research Award

Recipient – Jeshurun Luke


(Co-Sponsored) Matthew Neely Jackson Undergraduate Research Award  and the Chapel Family Undergraduate Research

Recipient – Jonathan Giudice


Chemistry Departments “Say Yes” Fund Award

Recipient- Robert Edwards


Other Awards

Carrie Largent Merit Scholarship – This scholarship recognizes Chemistry undergraduate students for their academic achievements. The scholarship provides an award of $2,000 for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Recipients – Ben Carry, Paige Jacky, Milan Patel, and Kathryn Weber

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.