Chemistry Faculty – Organic

Alexanian, Erik

Associate Professor

Synthetic Organic and Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis

    Murray Hall 2202H
    919-962-4976
    eja@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Aube, Jeff

Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, Jointly Appointed with the School of Pharmacy

New Synthetic Techniques, Total Synthesis, Study of Peptidomimetics

    Marsico Hall 3012
    919-966-9650
    jaube@email.unc.edu

Beaver, Joshua

Teaching Assistant Professor

Bioorganic Chemistry

    Kenan Laboratories A200
    919-962-3663
    jebeaver@live.unc.edu

Crimmins, Michael

Mary Ann Smith Professor of Chemistry, Jointly appointed with the School of Pharmacy
Not Accepting Doctoral Students

Total Synthesis of Natural Products

    Kenan Laboratories C640
    919-966-5177
    crimmins@email.unc.edu

DeSimone, Joseph

Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry
Not Accepting Doctoral Students

Nanomedicine, Medical Devices, Green Chemistry

    Caudill Laboratories 257
    919-962-2166
    desimone@unc.edu

Gagne, Michel

Mary Ann Smith Distinguished Professor of Chemistry,
Director of Graduate Studies

Catalysis, Synthetic Methods, Synthetic Receptors, Biofuels

    Caudill Laboratories 218
    919-962-6341
    mgagne@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Johnson, Jeffrey

A. Ronald Gallant Distinguished Professor; Department Chair

Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Asymmetric Catalysis

    Caudill Laboratories 220
    919-843-4936
    jsj@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Knight, Abigail

Assistant Professor

Bioinspired Materials, Chemical Biology, Polymer Chemistry

    Caudill Laboratories 319
    919-445-1187
    aknight@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Lawrence, David

Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, Jointly appointed with the UNC Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine

Chemical Biology, Organic and Photochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology

    Kenan Laboratories A508
    919-962-8907
    lawrenced@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Leibfarth, Frank

Assistant Professor

Polymer science, organic synthesis, and continuous flow chemistry

    Kenan Laboratories A500
    919-962-3418
    frankl@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Meek, Simon

Assistant Professor

Organic Synthesis, Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis

    Venable Hall 1307
    919-962-0359
    sjmeek@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Nicewicz, David

Professor of Chemistry

Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Catalysis, Natural Product Synthesis

    Murray Hall 2202G
    919-843-9150
    nicewicz@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Pielak, Gary

Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics; Vice Chair of Facilities; Jointly appointed with the School of Medicine

Protein Biophysics Emphasizing Studies in Living Cells

    Genome Sciences Building 3250
    919-962-4495
    gary_pielak@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Waters, Marcey

Glen H. Elder, Jr. Distinguished Professor Vice Chair of Education

Bioorganic Chemistry, Molecular Recognition

    Caudill Laboratories 219
    919-843-6522
    mlwaters@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Weeks, Kevin

Kenan Distinguished Professor

Chemical Biology, RNA Structure & Function, RNA Therapeutics

    Genome Sciences Building 3258
    919-962-7486
    weeks@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Wilkerson-Hill, Sidney

Assistant Professor

Synthetic Methods Inspired by Natural Products

    Venable Hall 1311
    919-962-7775
    smwhill@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

You, Wei

Professor of Chemistry and Applied Physical Sciences

Organic/Polymer Synthesis, Solar Cells, Molecular Electronics/Spintronics

    Kenan Laboratories C540
    919-962-6197
    wyou@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Zurcher, Danielle

Teaching Assistant Professor

Polymer and Organic Chemistry

    Kenan Laboratories C147A
    919-962-2541
    zurcherd@email.unc.edu