Campus Box 3290 Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3290, USA

Faculty Organic

Chemistry Faculty – Organic

Alexanian, Erik

Professor

Synthetic Organic and Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis

 Murray Hall 2202H
919-962-4976
eja@email.unc.edu
Group Page

Aube, Jeff

Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, Jointly Appointed with the School of Pharmacy

New Synthetic Techniques, Total Synthesis, Study of Peptidomimetics

 Marsico Hall 3012
919-966-9650
jaube@email.unc.edu

Beaver, Joshua

Teaching Assistant Professor

Bioorganic Chemistry

 Kenan Laboratories C147D
919-962-3663
jebeaver@live.unc.edu

Crimmins, Michael

Mary Ann Smith Professor of Chemistry, Jointly appointed with the School of Pharmacy
Not Accepting Doctoral Students

Total Synthesis of Natural Products

 Kenan Laboratories C640
919-966-5177
crimmins@email.unc.edu

DeSimone, Joseph

Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry
Not Accepting Doctoral Students

Nanomedicine, Medical Devices, Green Chemistry

 Caudill Laboratories 257
desimone@unc.edu

Gagne, Michel

Mary Ann Smith Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Catalysis, Synthetic Methods, Synthetic Receptors, Biofuels

 Caudill Laboratories 218
919-962-6341
mgagne@unc.edu
Group Page

Johnson, Jeffrey

A. Ronald Gallant Distinguished Professor

Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Asymmetric Catalysis

 Caudill Laboratories 220
919-843-4936, 919-962-4358
jsj@unc.edu
Group Page

Knight, Abigail

Assistant Professor

Bioinspired Materials, Chemical Biology, Polymer Chemistry

 Caudill Laboratories 319
919-445-1187
aknight@unc.edu
Group Page

Lawrence, David

Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, Jointly appointed with the UNC Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine

Chemical Biology, Organic and Photochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology

 Kenan Laboratories A508
919-962-8907
lawrenced@email.unc.edu
Group Page

Leibfarth, Frank

Assistant Professor

Polymer science, organic synthesis, and continuous flow chemistry

 Caudill Laboratories 239
919-962-3418
frankl@email.unc.edu
Group Page

Meek, Simon

Associate Professor

Organic Synthesis, Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis

 Venable Hall 1307
919-962-0359
sjmeek@unc.edu
Group Page

Nicewicz, David

Professor of Chemistry

Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Catalysis, Natural Product Synthesis

 Murray Hall 2202G
919-843-9150
nicewicz@unc.edu
Group Page

Pielak, Gary

Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics; Vice Chair of Facilities; Jointly appointed with the School of Medicine

Protein Biophysics Emphasizing Studies in Living Cells

 Genome Sciences Building 3250
919-962-4495
gary_pielak@unc.edu
Group Page

Waters, Marcey

Glen H. Elder, Jr. Distinguished Professor

Bioorganic Chemistry, Molecular Recognition

 Caudill Laboratories 219
919-843-6522
mlwaters@email.unc.edu
Group Page

Weeks, Kevin

Kenan Distinguished Professor

Chemical Biology, RNA Structure & Function, RNA Therapeutics

 Genome Sciences Building 3258
919-962-7486
weeks@unc.edu
Group Page

Wilkerson, Sidney

Assistant Professor

Synthetic Methods Inspired by Natural Products

 Venable Hall 1311
919-962-7775
smwhill@email.unc.edu
Group Page

You, Wei

Professor of Chemistry and Applied Physical Sciences

Organic/Polymer Synthesis, Solar Cells, Molecular Electronics/Spintronics

 Kenan Laboratories C540
919-962-6197
wyou@email.unc.edu
Group Page

Zurcher, Danielle

Teaching Assistant Professor

Polymer and Organic Chemistry

 Kenan Laboratories C147A
919-962-2541
zurcherd@email.unc.edu