Chemistry Faculty – Biological

Allbritton, Nancy

Kenan Distinguished Professor, Chair of UNC/NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering, Jointly Appointed with School of Medicine & School of Pharmacy

Signaling in Single Cells, Microfabricated Systems for Cellular Analysis

    Chapman Hall 241
    919-966-2291
    nlallbri@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Aube, Jeff

Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, Jointly Appointed with the School of Pharmacy

New Synthetic Techniques, Total Synthesis, Study of Peptidomimetics

    Marsico Hall 3012
    919-966-9650
    jaube@email.unc.edu

Berkowitz, Max

Professor
Not Accepting Doctoral Students

Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, and Biophysical Chemistry

    Caudill Laboratories 017
    919-962-1218
    maxb@email.unc.edu

Brustad, Eric

Assistant Professor

Biocatalysis, Chemical Biology, Protein Engineering, Directed Evolution, Unnatural Amino Acid Mutagenesis, X-ray crystallography

    Genome Sciences Building 3260
    919-962-4487
    brustad@unc.edu

DeSimone, Joseph

Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry
Not Accepting Doctoral Students

Nanomedicine, Medical Devices, Green Chemistry

    Caudill Laboratories 257
    919-962-2166
    desimone@unc.edu

Erie, Dorothy

Professor

Scanning Force Microscopy, Biological Chemistry

    Genome Sciences Building 4360
    919-962-6370
    derie@email.unc.edu

Glish, Gary

Professor

Mass Spectrometry, Ion Chemistry, Biomolecule Analysis

    Caudill Laboratories 320
    919-962-2303
    glish@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Hicks, Leslie

Assistant Professor

Proteomics, Posttranslational Modifications, Mass Spectrometry

    Kenan Laboratories C040
    919-843-6903
    lmhicks@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Lawrence, David

Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor, Jointly appointed with the UNC Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine

Chemical Biology, Organic and Photochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology

    Kenan Laboratories A508
    919-962-8907
    lawrenced@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Li, Bo

Assistant Professor

Chemical Biology, Natural Product Biosynthesis and Discovery

    Genome Sciences Building 3256
    919-843-4436
    boli@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Lockett, Matthew

Assistant Professor

Analytical Sensors, Surface Chemistry, Array Fabrication, 3D Cell Culture Systems, Microfabricated Devices

    Kenan Laboratories C348
    919-843-9440
    mlockett@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Moran, Andrew

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Spectroscopy and Dynamics in Condensed Phases; Nonlinear Optics

    Caudill Laboratories 120
    919-962-0289
    ammoran@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Pielak, Gary

Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics; Vice Chair of Facilities; Jointly appointed with the School of Medicine

Protein Biophysics Emphasizing Studies in Living Cells

    Genome Sciences Building 3250
    919-962-4495
    gary_pielak@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Ramsey, Michael

Minnie N. Goldby Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; Jointly appointed with the School of Medicine

Microfabricated Chemical Instrumentation, Microfluidics, Nanofluidics

    Chapman Hall 251
    919-962-7492
    jmramsey@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Redinbo, Matthew

Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Microbiology, Jointly appointed with the School of Medicine

Understanding Human Disease using Structural and Chemical Biology

    Genome Sciences Building 4350
    919-962-4581
    redinbo@unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Thompson, Nancy

Professor

Molecular Dynamics at Biological Cell Surfaces

    Genome Sciences Building 4356
    919-962-4493
    nlt@unc.edu

Waters, Marcey

Glen H. Elder, Jr. Distinguished Professor Vice Chair of Education

Bioorganic Chemistry, Molecular Recognition

    Caudill Laboratories 219
    919-843-6522
    mlwaters@email.unc.edu
    Group Paqe

Weeks, Kevin

Kenan Distinguished Professor

Chemical Biology, RNA Structure & Function, RNA Therapeutics

    Genome Sciences Building 3258
    919-962-7486
    weeks@unc.edu
    Group Paqe